Latest News

no news in this list.



Category: Front Page Item

By: John Roberson



By John Roberson


Zachary Littlewood of Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club was the stand out performer in the first round of the Laser Metro Championships, sailed at Claremont Yacht Club on 8th November. Sailing in the Radial rig fleet, he had the best overall score of the three divisions, with just eight points, six points clear of second placed Lloyd Lissiman.


Winner of the Standard division was veteran campaigner Colin Dibb of Fremantle sailing club, who finished the series with nine points, just three ahead of Lachy Gilham and David Whait. In the 4.7 fleet it was Hayden Coote of South of Perth Yacht Club, who won the series with a score of nine points, winning on a countback from Rome Featherstone.


It was a mast snapping, body testing day on Freshwater Bay, the home waters of the friendly Claremont Yacht Club, with winds in the 25 to 30 knot range in the afternoon. There were a total of 46 entries with all the major river clubs represented, and out-of-town competitors travelling from as far away as Mandurah and Dunsborough.


In the morning session it was all Colin Dibb and Lachy Gilham in the standard fleet, but when the wind built in the afternoon South of Perth’s David Whait started to show his pace, putting a couple of bullets on the score board. David was unlucky in the first race of the afternoon when his mast snapped while he was leading, but he rushed ashore, found another bottom section, and was out there to win the remaining races of the afternoon.


Lloyd Lissiman from Royal Perth also came into his own in the stronger breezes after lunch, scoring two bullets, then coming ashore to find that the bottom section of his mast was cracked almost halfway around.


Claremont Yacht Club were great hosts for the day, organising smooth arrival and unloading of boats, efficient launching, slick race management, with staff giving a warm welcome and providing a great complimentary lunch for competitors.


The second half of the Metro Championships will be sailed at Safety Bay Yacht Club on the Australia Day long weekend. This is another very friendly club with great sailing waters.




1st      Colin Dibb           FSC  9pts (1st Masters)

2nd     Lachy Gilham      SoPYC 12pts

3rd      David Whait        SoPYC 12pts (2nd Masters)

4th      Nigel Paul           CYC     29pts (3rd Masters)



1st      Zachary Littlewood RFBYC 8pts

2nd     Lloyd Lissiman       RPYC   14pts (1st Masters)

3rd      James Stewart      RFBYC  34pts

5th      Michael Townsend RFBYC 44pts (2nd Masters)

7th      David Joyce          RFBYC 48pts (3rd Masters)



1st      Hayden Coote         SoPYC 9pts

2nd     Rome Featherstone FSC     9pts

3rd      Daniel Brown         FSC     14pts

4th      Hailey Johnson       GBYC   14pts (1st Female)

5th      Bronagh Allison     MOFSC 23pts (2nd Female)

6th      Alic Gallen            RFBYC  27pts (3rd Female)

11.11.15 13:39 Age: 2 yrs